The Association of Flight Attendants-CWA (AFA-CWA) is the worlds largest labor union organized by Flight Attendants for Flight Attendants. AFA-CWA represents nearly 50,000 Flight Attendants at 20 airlines, serving as a voice for Flight Attendants at their workplace, in the industry, in the media and on Capitol Hill. Simply put, the goal of flight attendants who become part of AFA-CWA is to negotiate better pay, benefits, working conditions and work rules at their airline, and to improve their safety on the job.

AFA-CWA Members
Local Executive Council (LEC)

At Each Base

All Flight Attendants working for the same airline and assigned to the same base or modified co-terminal form the Local Council.

The president, vice president and secretary of each council, elected by the members of that Local Council to a three-year term, form the Local Executive Council (LEC).

LEC PresidentMember of Board of Directors
LEC Vice President
LEC Secretary

At Each Airline

All local council presidents from the same airline form a Master Executive Council (MEC). The MEC elects a president, vice president and secretary-treasurer for three-year terms, and handles negotiations and other business affecting members at that airline.

Master Exec Council (MEC)
MEC PresidentMember of Exec Board
MEC Vice President
MEC Secretary-Treasurer

At The National Level

The Board of Directors (BOD), the union's highest governing body, consists of all AFA local council presidents. The BOD amends AFAs Constitution and Bylaws elects national officers, determines the annual budget, and oversees all union activities.

All MEC presidents make up the Executive Board, which interprets policy and carries out decisions of the Board of Directors.

The BOD elects and advises the International Officers: The International President, Vice President, and Secretary-Treasurer who serve full-time for four-year terms and administer union operations.

AFA-CWA Executive Board
AFA-CWA Board of Directors
International Officers
International VPDebra Sutor
International PresidentSara Nelson
International Sec. TreasurerKevin Creighan